This is page 2 of 3. "Saving Photos" begins here.

Now the next screen pops us.

After the first picture of each session you will no longer be prompted to use the organizer. Clicking "Save As" Will result directly in this next screen.

Let’s start at the top of the “Save As” box. I click on the “save as” button under “file” because if you use “save” there is a possibility that your original will simply be replaced by the edited picture. When you use “save as” you will always have the options shown below.

At the top where it says “Save in” the name of the folder your picture was in should be displayed. This means your edited copy will be saved in the same folder. You will see the two folders you created plus the file names of the other pictures in the window.

Look at "Other save options" at the top of the above picture.

The Icons along the left and to the right are other places you can choose to save your picture. Hover over any of these and it will display where your picture can be saved. If you decide to export the picture directly to one of those places just follow the prompts.

For now I strongly recommend saving photos in the folder from whence they came. This way they all stay together. Like a little child who can easily get lost, so can a picture file inside a big ol’ 500 gigabyte computer.

Be sure the “Format” window says JPEG (*JPG,*JPEG,*JPE) as seen above. There may come a time you want to save things in a different format, but for now you want the finished work to be saved in JPEG format.

Under the title “Save Options” in blue lettering, I never worry about any of the options. The program automatically sets those and I have never found a reason to change them.

Except before you click “save” on the save screen make sure you check the “As a Copy” box and be sure the word copy is at the end of the file name. This is what ensures you will not delete and replace your original.

Now click “Save.”

In this next box you have more options.

Soon you will be ignoring most of the options available except in special instances.

Matte: option. Never mind. It has specific applications you will probably never need to know. If you are doing photographic work for a website you may want to learn about it. I don’t use it at all.

Image Options; This will affect your picture’s finish quality. I normally keep it around 8 or 10. That does fine for most applications as it provides good quality prints.

I set it much smaller when digital space is a concern. For instance, on this site I can use a file size up to 100K. I must make sure that all pictures I use are under that limit. Look toward the bottom of the picture above and you will see the word “Size” in blue letters.

Inside that box you see ~93.1K. That is the actual size of the file for the picture I was saving. This particular picture has a small file size even set at an image quality of 8.

Another place that a small file size comes in handy is a digital picture frame. The smaller each file size, the more pictures you can fit in the frame's memory. However, don't take those files and try to get them printed. When a file is small it may look very nice when displayed in digital form but look terrible when it is printed.

One little trick is to save the picture twice. Save it in a very large file size; quality 10 or even 12 if you have a hard drive with plenty of room. This means you will have the best quality in your printed photo. Save a second one at a small size for using in digital format.

Just be sure to keep track of them. I have lost entire folders of pictures thinking I was deleting small file sizes only to discover, too late of course, that I actually deleted the originals. How heartbreaking!

I now have a system whereby that NEVER happens. I have an untouched backup of the originals and an untouched backup of my finished pictures. All I ever do with either of the folders is go in and copy/paste the photo of my choice into a new folder for using or working on. That way the original NEVER gets touched.

Format Options; The program will automatically set this option. It mostly will click between Baseline (“Standard”) and Baseline Optimized. Once again there are differences but you will very likely never need to know those differences. They have to do with a Web browser's and other electronic component's ability to open and display the file. Only the oldest browsers have any trouble with either of them.

Finish "Saving Photos" here.